Chippin' Away

Moving one day, one minute, one step at a time.

The Waiting is Over March 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — chippinaway @ 11:58 pm

Well, the waiting is over.  Mostly.  I don’t even really know how to write this post, but here goes.

We got a call for 2 baby boys, 6 months and 18 months.   They will be moving into our house by April 1st!!  I can’t tell you much about them, but I will mention that the goal of the state as of right now is reunification with her mother.  So, we aren’t sure how long they will be with us.  This is hard for me to handle.  I keep having so many thoughts!  What’s it gonna be like when they get here?  What’s it gonna be like when/if they leave???  Oh my.  I haven’t even met them yet and I already love them.  I knew that this is what we were doing, but man.  It’s all just flooding in now.

Jeff is so calm and I need that.  He told me, “we will love them like they are never leaving, and we’ll give them back when it’s time.”  Oh I love my husband.  He always knows what to say.  Tonight in my time with the Lord, I was reminded of a verse in 1 Samuel.  Hannah, who prayed and prayed for a son, dedicates him to the Lord and says, “For this child I prayed, and the Lord has granted me my petition that I made him.  Therefore, I have lent him to the Lord.  As long as he lives, he is lent to the Lord.”  See, I’ve been praying for these children to come, and they have been the Lord’s all along.  These are the Lord’s children and it is a wonderful honor and privelege to take care of them for a time.  I am resting in and clinging to that truth.

I knew this was going to be hard, but now that it’s here, I really know how hard it is going to be.  Foster and adoption is hard.  It comes with pain and sorrow attached to it.  These are children who have entered a state that was never intended.  They are orphaned.  Even when adoptions are a success, they are birthed from a painful situation.  But in Jesus there is healing.  In Him we and these children find strength.  In Jesus there is love.  In Jesus there is peace.

Please pray for us as we meet our new sweet babies tomorrow!

 

4 Responses to “The Waiting is Over”

  1. Bec Says:

    Oh I’ll be praying! xx

  2. Kelly Davis Says:

    Cara and Jeff,
    Your faith and following the Lord’s whisper is an inspiration. You are, as always, in our prayers and in our hearts. We love you!

  3. So amazing! We’re praying for you and the boys on the way. Keep us updated on how things are going for you all. :o)

  4. Kati Says:

    Hi Cara,
    Just wanted you to know I am a regular follower of your blog and great admirer of you and Jeff and your faith on this journey. Can’t imagine the rollercoaster of emotions you’re on. Best wishes to you and your family.
    Kati


Leave a Reply

