Chippin' Away

Moving one day, one minute, one step at a time.

A Big Thank You (note) May 2, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — chippinaway @ 1:41 pm

I am not good at thank you notes. Seriously. It’s something that I just can’t seem to remember to do, and by the time I do remember I can’t remember who gave me whatever gift it was and most of the time by the time I remember it’s too late because the moment has past. I never really know what to write in there. I’m not the person that hands a thank you note out the day after a party. I even admit that I’ve had a kind of bad attitude about thank you notes, wondering why a simple “thank you” in person isn’t enough. But, I’m willing to admit when I’m wrong. I don’t hate thank you notes because they are dumb. I hate them because I’m not good at them. Just the other day (or week) I found a box of thank you cards already written, stamped, and ready to mailed from over a year ago when some friends gave me a shower for the boys!!! Holy cow. I have got to get better at this!

What is bring this on, you ask? Well, I’ve been trying to teach Miss 6 that it’s important to be thankful when somebody gives her a gift, or does something nice for her. We sat down yesterday to write a thank you note for a gift and I thought, “wow. this is weird. Here I am telling her she needs to do this when I don’t do it myself!” I started thinking about it and wondered “what is then point?” The point is that we are expressing appreciation. If that’s with a gift, a note, a song, an e-mail….I don’t think it matters. But it’s important to express to people you are thankful. Right now, the way I know to teach this to my kid is to have her sit and write a note.

So, I’m going to take this time and apologize and say a huge THANK YOU to all of you who have given us gifts, showered us with love, supported us in prayer, taken care of our kids, helped us when we couldn’t help ourselves, and have loved us so well. Here’s to this lady being better at saying thank you!!

Love all of you!

 

One Response to “A Big Thank You (note)”

  1. Deforia Says:

    I too plead guilty to the same dilema. It could be the let down after the ‘event’ to be grateful for is over,or the inability to say thank you with the same heart and passion with which it was given, or I’m too busy moving on the next thing on an all-to-busy agenda. The present (as in present moment) takes over and sometimes overshadows the gift (present). The real ‘present’ is the heartsong we want to sing for and to the giver. I too will try to learn from your comments, Cara, and model behavior you are teaching your daughter. The next time I write a thank you note, you will be on my mind and on the tip of my pen! Love ya,
    Deforia


Leave a Reply

